Does anyone make their own bread? Either by hand, or with a machine.
We like nothing better than Sundried tomato bread, freshly cooked in our breadmaker.
I have been making my own bread for about 5 yrs.
It has been one of my favourite foods but alas I am now on a low carb no white food eating plan..most grains are abolished and especially any processed foods containing them.
The only saving grace is that I can still eat the fats I love..like butter and bacon..but they are not as good without the bread.

The diet is my own choice after I gained about 30 lbs when i quit smoking because I was eating too much chocolate, ice cream, bread and cheesecake..to compensate for the smokes.

Anyway it has been almost 2 months but today I am actually just proofing a spelt/flaxmeal loaf for my first home made in awhile.
Really I am making it and looking forward to smothering a warm hunk with fresh butter!!
I've lost half my goal weight (15 lbs) and really want some comfort food:>)
This recipe is extremely simple.

http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/?p=1616

Enjoy!!
There is nothing worse than being deprived of your favourite foods.
But, well done on the weight loss.
I'm afraid that making bread by hand, is too much like hard work. I much prefer to chuck a ready mix and water into my machine, and wait 'til it pings, three hours later.

Mike
But Mike..this is truly the lazy man's artisan bread!
no kneading.. mix and set side..scoop and proof..then bake.
yeast, water, flour, salt ..4 simple basic ingredients
thanks on the comment.
I doubt i will be able to give up my favourite food forever..at least if making my own i know exactly what is in it.

jo
My daughter keeps saying, I ought to try it. She does, even though she has a permanently damaged shoulder, due to a bad fall. So, the kneading can be agony, for her.
I must admit, in the back of my mind. The idea does appeal to me. Maybe, I will give it a go, one day.