Ann for Anonymous
by Rainywhether

As I walked by the big picture window, I caught a glimpse of a vague someone. Who the hell was that? The smudged reflection depicted a woman – a completely bald woman. My hand hesitated a bit before stroking my hairless head.. This did not make sense. I studied the strange specter in the glass, wrapped in a bulky trench coat. Who was this? A bus stop bench rested a few feet away. As I sat down to think, my wrap dropped open revealing I was wearing nothing underneath. I quickly covered up. My sense of terrified isolation produced a torrent of tears. A lady approached.
Are you all right?” she asked.
“Huh?” I said sobbing.
“Are you all right?” she repeated as her hand lightly touched my shoulder. Flashes of light crossed my face as cars whizzed by. This was an unfamiliar environment. Tall, dark buildings loomed over me like dispassionate pallbearers.
“I'm fine.”
She sat next to me. “You don't seem fine. Is there something I can do?”
“Where am I?”
“Detroit, she answered.
“Michigan?”
“Is there any other?” she said, leaning back, her eyes transfixed on the sky. There could have been a billion stars, but the ubiquitous gray clouds masked the heavens. My body shook as an icy chill gnawed at my shoeless toes.
“This bus is never on time,” she said to fill the void of silence.
“I'm not waiting for a bus,” I replied. As much as I tried to contain them, tears burst from my eyes, again. “I don't know who I am, what I am, where I am.” My body shook as if it were in the path of an earthquake's aftermath.
“Wow,” she said staring at my profile. A moment or two passed until she spoke again.
“I have a wonderful idea! Come home with me. My uncle is a doctor. I know he can help.”
Was this woman for real? Curly, red locks tumbled from under a blue knit cap. Freckles, like pink snowflakes, flurried about her face. A big, thick, wonderfully warm-looking scarf was double wrapped around her neck.
“I was thinking of going to the police.” I said.